Time: 
05/13/2016 - 09:00-05/13/2016 - 18:00
Room: 
275-277

Mentored Core Sprint

Date: Friday, May 13
Where: New Orleans Convention Center
Time: 9:00am - 6:00pm
Cost: Free to attend

Learn while helping with core! Plenty of mentors will be available to help you get started. If you're not sure where to start contributing, or not even sure about the whole sprint thing, this is for you! This is one of our many sprints. If you are new to contribution, attend our First-time Sprinter Workshop first to set up tools like IRC, git, and a Drupal 8 development environment, and then join this Mentored Core Sprint.

The Mentored Core Sprint has been held at DrupalCon since Sydney 2013 and at many local and regional Drupal events.

Why come

If you're like most Drupal users, you've been telling yourself for months that you should start contributing to Drupal core. This sprint is your chance to get started with in-person training and mentoring from friendly, experienced core contributors. If you've already started to work on core, come meet other contributors, hang out in person, and work on manageable tasks in the Drupal core queue. The goal is to help you help with core.

Who it's for

This sprint is intended for first-time contributors and anyone with Drupal site building experience to learn how to contribute to Drupal core. Our mentors will help match tasks suitable for programmers and non-programmers alike.

What to expect

We'll kick things off with a brief introduction, and then we'll help match people with issues that are right for their skill levels and areas of interest. Free training is also provided to help new contributors set up a development environment and learn about the contribution process.

What to bring

  1. An interest in Drupal contribution
  2. A laptop with a Drupal 8 development environment

How to get set up

Don't have your development environment yet? No problem! Come to the First Time Sprinter Workshop on Friday

Setting up a Drupal 8 environment

You're also encouraged to set up your Drupal 8 development environment on your own if you prefer. Here's what you'll need:

  1. An account on http://drupal.org.
  2. Dreditor, a browser plugin for Firefox and Chrome.
  3. And local tools. Two options for setting up local tools:

Also recommended

References

Want to help mentor?

Are you already familiar with setting up a development environment or with the core contribution process? Want to help other contributors? We need lots of mentors to work with our first-time contributors.

Sign up to Mentor

Mentors

Alina Mackenzie (alimac),
Ravindra Singh (RavindraSingh),
Cathy Theys (YesCT),
Gobinath Mallaiyan (gobinathm),
David Valdez (gnuget),
Aman Kanoria (amankanoria),
Joël Pittet (joelpittet),
John Cook (John Cook),
Chris McCafferty (cilefen),
David Hernandez (davidhernandez),
manmohan bisht (manmohandream),
Mike Keran (mikeker),
Ashwini Kumar (ashwinikumar),
Eleanor Wai (eleanor_wai),
Mauricio Dinarte (dinarcon),
Prabhu Narayanpethkar (prabhurajn654),
Maninder Singh (Maninders),
Lucas Hedding (heddn),
Hitesh Jain (hitesh-jain),
Steve Purkiss (stevepurkiss),
Piyuesh Kumar (piyuesh23),
Saket Kumar (saki007ster),
Manauwar Alam (manauwarsheikh),
Les Lim (Les Lim),
Ajit Shinde (AjitS),
Marc Drummond (mdrummond),
Nikki Stevens (drnikki),
Prashant Goel (prashantgoel),
Tim Erickson (stpaultim),
Daniel Carvalhinho (dscl),
Lalit Nirban (lalit3007),
Joaz Rivera (m3chas),
Junaid Masoodi (junaidmasoodi),
Christian Manalansan (cmanalansan),
Blake Hall (blakehall),
Abhishek Anand (abhishek-anand),
Amber Matz (Amber Himes Matz),
Darryl Norris (darol100),
David Needham (davidneedham),
Kristin Bradham (kristink2),
Diana VanRooy (thenyouDi),
Marc Isaacson (vegantriathlete),
Carlos Ospina (camoa),
Patrick Storey (Patrick Storey),
William Hetherington (willwh),
Ravish Gupta (ravyg),
Valery Lourie (valthebald),
Seth Silesky (sethsilesky),
Stuart Clark (Deciphered),
Barbara Errickson (barbarae),
Cristina Chumillas (ckrina),
Chris Weber (cosmicdreams),
Leslie Glynn (leslieg),
Gregg Marshall (greggmarshall),
Jeff Markel (jmarkel),
Scott Wilkinson (HaloFX),
Alex Burrows (aburrows),
Deepak Kumar (deepakaryan1988),
Anna Kalata (akalata),
Mark Casias (markie),
Luis Eduardo Telaya Escobedo (edutrul),
Kristen Pol (Kristen Pol),
Darren Oh (Darren Oh),
Tara King (sparklingrobots),
Leonid Makarov (inqui),
José Manuel Rodríguez Vélez (marthinal),
Alexar Pendashteh (pendashteh),
David Cameron (dcam),
raveena varla (raveena),
Robert Anthony Bellamy (rabellamy),
Karthik Kumar D K (heykarthikwithu),
Mark Lee (marklee2011),
Kay VanValkenburgh (kay_v),
Kalpana Goel (kgoel),
Alan Heikkila (kalanh),
Lindsay Gaudinier (legaudinier),

Sponsors