Time: 
09/25/2015 - 09:00-09/25/2015 - 18:00
Room: 
115

Mentored Core Sprint

Date: Friday, 25 September
Time: 9:00 - 18:00
Location: Barcelona International Convention Center, Room 115
Cost: Free to attend, DrupalCon registration not required

Learn while helping with core! Plenty of mentors will be available to help you get started. If you're not sure where to start contributing, or not even sure about the whole sprint thing, this is for you! This is one of our many sprints. If you are new to contribution, attend our First-time Sprinter Workshop first to set up tools like IRC, git, and a Drupal 8 development environment, and then join this Mentored Core Sprint.

The Mentored Core Sprint has been held at DrupalCon since Sydney 2013 and at many local and regional Drupal events.

Why come

If you're like most Drupal users, you've been telling yourself for months that you should start contributing to Drupal core. This sprint is your chance to get started with in-person training and mentoring from friendly, experienced core contributors. If you've already started to work on core, come meet other contributors, hang out in person, and work on manageable tasks in the Drupal core queue. The goal is to help you help with core.

Who it's for

This sprint is intended for first-time contributors and anyone with Drupal site building experience to learn how to contribute to Drupal core. Our mentors will help match tasks suitable for programmers and non-programmers alike.

What to expect

We'll kick things off with a brief introduction, and then we'll help match people with issues that are right for their skill levels and areas of interest. Free training is also provided to help new contributors set up a development environment and learn about the contribution process.

What to bring

  1. An interest in Drupal contribution
  2. A laptop with a Drupal 8 development environment

How to get set up

Don't have your development environment yet? No problem! Come to the First Time Sprinter Workshop.

Setting up a Drupal 8 environment

You're also encouraged to set up your Drupal 8 development environment on your own if you prefer. Here's what you'll need:

  1. An account on http://drupal.org.
  2. Dreditor, a browser plugin for Firefox and Chrome.
  3. And local tools. Two options for setting up local tools:

Also recommended

References

Who you'll meet

Sprint leads

Want to help mentor?

Are you already familiar with setting up a development environment or with the core contribution process? Want to help other contributors? We need lots of mentors to work with our first-time contributors.

Sign up to Mentor

Mentors

Cathy Theys (YesCT),
Ravindra Singh (RavindraSingh),
David Hernández Ruiz (David Hernández),
Montaña Franco (mon_franco),
Oliver Davies (opdavies),
Kalpana Goel (kgoel),
Manjit Singh (Manjit.Singh),
Jarkko Oksanen (jOksanen),
Stuart Clark (Deciphered),
Brian Gilbert (realityloop),
Alex Burrows (aburrows),
Roderik Muit (roderik),
gauravjeet singh (gauravjeet),
Ashish Thakur (a_thakur),
Renato Vasconcellos Gomes (revagomes),
Josue Valencia (Anonymus),
Valery Lourie (valthebald),
Bart Feenstra (Xano),
Deepak Kumar (deepakaryan1988),
Carlos Ospina (camoa),
Ivo Radulovski (segments),
Barbara Errickson (barbarae),
Jaume Ramonet Fernández (isaac.el.cec),
Anna Kalata (akalata),
Prashant Goel (prashantgoel),
Vijayachandran Mani (vijaycs85),
Eduardo Esclapés (esclapes),
Ekes Edmonds (ekes),
Joaquín Bravo Contreras (jackbravo),
Rachel Lawson (rachel_norfolk),
Joël Pittet (joelpittet),
Darwin Betancourt (drw),
Andy Footner (lazysoundsystem),
Alina Mackenzie (alimac),
Lauri Eskola (lauriii),
Scott Reeves (Cottser),
Dmytro Danylevskyi (danylevskyi),
Saket Kumar (saki007ster),
Hitesh Jain (hitesh-jain),
Aman Kanoria (amankanoria),
Tamás Hajas (thamas),
Frédéric G. Marand (fgm),
Sally Young (justafish),
Dan Mulindwa (dcmul),
Andrew Holgate (andrewsuth),
Manauwar Alam (manauwarsheikh),
Bill Seremetis (bserem),
Thom Toogood (8thom),
ketika grover (ketika),
Deepshikha Singh (deepshikha.singh),
Erik Stielstra (Sutharsan),
Arne Sneyers (Pnoi),
Jared Smith (jaredsmith),
Michael Lenahan (michaellenahan),
Anil Chandna (achandna),
Eric Mora (Anonymous),
Edouard Cunibil (DuaelFr),
Gregg Marshall (greggmarshall),
Joe Fender (fenda),
Rob Bailey (robertdbailey),
Maria Dolores V. Romero (Anonymous),
John Cook (John Cook),
Mauricio Dinarte (dinarcon),
Stefan Ruijsenaars (stefan.r),
Abhishek Anand (abhishek-anand),
João Ventura (jcnventura),
Kevin Kaland (wizonesolutions),
J-P Stacey (jp.stacey),
Emma Karayiannis (emma.maria),
Tanvir Ahmad (TanvirAhmad),
Lauri Eskola (lauriii),
Kay VanValkenburgh (kay_v),
Alvaro Hurtado (alvar0hurtad0),
Alexar Pendashteh (alexarpen),
Léon Cros (chipway),
Lucas Hedding (heddn),